Skip to content

Mom’s Homemade Chicken and Noodles

March 31, 2009

My mom rarely used a recipe and but her meals always turned out great.  One of the family’s  favorite was her homemade chicken and noodles.  She’d make her noodles from scratch and they always turned out the same, perfect.  When someone would ask for the recipe she’d tell them “a mound of flour, 1-2 eggs, 1/2 an eggshell of water and salt.” After mom died I wanted chicken and noodles and I tried to remember what she said.  I’d have to make them twice.  The first time I’d get the consistency of the dough wrong and throw it out knowing what I had to do the second time.  Now the chicken was a different story all together.  I remember mom saying it had to be a stewing chicken and she’d boil that thing all day and end up with a very rich broth.  I tried that and had a mild chicken flavored water.  I had to resort to using Swanson’s Chicken Broth.

In 2002 I met my husband and his mother knew how to make egg noodles.  She gave me a basic recipe of 1 cup flour and 1 egg and said it served 2.  I took her recipe as a start and added salt and a little water as my mom had said.  Now I still use Swanson’s Chicken Broth (I’ve tried other brands and they have a chemical after taste) but I add a few pieces of chicken with the skin on for extra richness and flavor.  I also use three times the flour and eggs and I can tell you, everyone’s raving about my chicken and noodles.

Homemade Chicken and Noodles

4 boxes Swanson Chicken Broth (I mix 2 regular and 2 low sodium)

Chicken with skin (as many pieces as you want.  You can also add some skinless chicken if you want)

3 cups flour

3 eggs

Water (I put water into a glass and add a little at a time, maybe 1/2 cup)

salt (about 1/4 teasp.

If you have a food processor or Kitchen Aid with the dough hook that works best but mom always used her hands.

Put flour in a large bowl and make a well in the middle.

Add salt

Add 3 eggs and mix with hands

Slowly add water and continue mixing

You should now have a ball of dough.  break about 1/3-1/4 of the dough off and place on a well floured surface.  With a floured rolling pin roll the dough until it’s about 1/8 inch thick, turning dough over while rolling and adding more flour to rolling surface and top of dough as needed.  Start at one end and roll dough jelly roll fashion.  With a sharp knife slowly slice dough about 1/4-1/2 inch wide.  On a floured surface sift through the noodles with your fingers, slightly tossing, so they’ll unwind.

Continue above process with remaining dough.  Put noodles on cookie sheet and sprinkle with flour.  You can use them immediately or make the noodles early in the day and let them sit out and dry a little before using.

In a large stockpot cook the broth and chicken for several hours.  Remove the chicken from the broth.  Mom use to place the chicken on the table as is, I prefer to  remove the skin and bones tearing the chicken into bite size pieces.  Set chicken aside.  Add the noodles slowly to the broth, scattering them over the top and  mixing with a fork after each handful.  Cover and simmer about 20-30 minutes.  Add chicken and mix.  You can serve the noodles in a bowl or as mom always did, put the pot on the table.

Now’s the part that’s up to your taste and preferences.  You can either serve the chicken and noodles alone or the old fashioned way, over mashed potatoes.

Noodles are great as leftovers.  I put in a bowl and add a tiny bit of water.  Heat through in the microwave or in a pan on top the stove.

Hints: Since I received a Kitchen Aid I make double the noodles and freeze 1/2 in a ziplock bag.  After thawing I spread them on a cookie sheet and sprinkle with flour to absorb any moisture.

I usually cook the chicken and broth earlier in the day and reheat the broth before adding the noodles.  When you add the chicken at the end it heats up very quickly.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 3:11 pm

    Dee, I don’t know how you do it….It takes all my time, to keep up with my one site, not to mention adding more (even though I have one on the backburner, I ignore it most of the time). Good Luck and the recipe sounds fabulous!

  2. April 1, 2009 11:52 pm

    Have you tried adding a bit of salt and boiling the chicken in a pressure cooker? It makes a nice rich broth and forces iron (from the bone marrow) into the broth so its more nutritious (or so my mom claims.)

  3. Missourimist permalink
    April 8, 2009 1:21 am

    Dee, my Dad made this with beef. It was wonderful. He would just boil it with salt and peper until it was so tender and fell apart. I am sure they made the noodles the same, I bet that was grandma’s recipe.

  4. Dee permalink*
    April 8, 2009 8:50 am

    I’ve made these with beef because Don asked me to. I much prefer them with chicken but I guess it’s what you grew up on. He said his mom made them both ways when he was growing up but the beef is a nice change once in a while.

Trackbacks

  1. The Chef is Coming! The Chef is Coming! « I’m Not a Domestic Goddess but I Try

Leave a Reply

