Skip to content

The Swiffer Wet Jet

April 3, 2009

I’m sure everybody already has one but I just bought a Swiffer Wet Jet a couple of weeks ago and tried it for the first time today.

Usually my husband cleans the rooms with tile while I clean anything with carpet. He uses the bucket, mop and pine cleaner. I decided I wanted to tackle that job once in a while but I REFUSE to drag a bucket around with me. Hence my decision to buy the Wet Jet.

If you haven’t used one or seen it anyplace except TV I have to tell you it’s plastic. Not that that’s a bad thing but it leads me to a warning. Be careful when installing the batteries. OH yes, it requires 4 AA batteries which aren’t included. That’s the reason it took me a couple of weeks to use it. I kept forgetting to buy batteries. When I first installed the batteries I didn’t look at the little diagram inside the compartment and put 2 batteries in backwards which resulted in bending one of the metal contacts. I had a hard time getting it back in place and ended up having to remove one end of the metal to bend it a little for the battery to fit correctly. Then I had trouble getting the battery compartment back in place. Yes, this was my boo boo which could have been avoided if I’d read the instructions first.

After everything was OK with the batteries came time to insert the cleaning solution. I pressed it in as the instructions stated with the arrow in the right place but nothing was coming out when I pressed the button. I removed the bottle and put it back in again this time pressing a little harder and it worked.

Today was the test. Does it really clean the floor like I want. Yes it does. I swept the floor first and then started spraying and mopping. I used the little scrubber that’s attached on one end for some spilled, sticky juice and it did a good job in cleaning it up. Make sure you read the instructions for using it. You need to use your foot to stabalize the mop head in order to use the scrubber and I recommend wearing shoes. It was a little creepy feeling in bare feet. My husband came in while I was cleaning and commented that the solution smelled nice. I really liked that because I was getting sick of the pine smell. After I was done with the floor I looked at the mop pad. It was black so I guess it did it’s job. The nice thing is you can rip it off and throw it away. No more trying to store a damp mop and having the pine smell infiltrate the garage when the cleaning’s done.

After the floor dried, which didn’t take that long, I walked across it in my bare feet and it did feel clean. Of course that didn’t last long. One trip in the back yard after my husband cut the grass and there’s damp grass clippings tracked in.

On a scale of 1-5 I’d give the Swiffer Wet Jet a 4. They loose a star for not including the batteries. If I’m paying $20 for something made of plastic I’d prefer not to have to buy the first set of batteries.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Missourimist permalink
    April 8, 2009 1:11 am

    It is amazing what runs in families, as I read my cousin’s blogs I find
    that we are really alike. It seems that batteries are tough for us both. We too, have a wet jet. I actually got a second one a few months ago and rememberered the batteries a few weeks back. I had to wait to con someone to put them in for me. My daughter did that today. I always get them in upside down. The little arrows don’t seem to help me at all. I know it is supposed to be simple – but it is not.

    I even have problem with my little lite vacumn that I use for quick pick ups. It just has a small cup that you snap on and off. Everyone else one minute. It takes me ten minutes to get it back on!

  2. Dee permalink*
    April 8, 2009 8:49 am

    I just think if something needs batteries they should include them. When you’re already paying good money for something I’d be willing to pay $1 more for the batteries. They don’t even have to be brand name, just good enough to let me use it 1 time before I have to go out and buy more. If they don’t want to include the batteries have it in huge lettering across the front of the package not little bitty teeny weeny letters at the bottom on the back.

Leave a Reply

