Skip to content

Quaker Mini Delights

August 7, 2009

I recently discovered I have to watch my carbs which is difficult for me. I’m more of a meat and potatoes type of eater. Yeah, the meat’s OK, it’s the potatoes and what goes on them that’s the killer. I just can’t eat or maybe I should say won’t eat vegetables, especially cooked vegetables with the exception of the afore mentioned potatoes and whole kernel corn.

Since I’ve been forced into this I’ve had to change my thinking about snacks, no more cream cheese and a bag of chips. No more Italian bread with olive oil and garlic. No more eating 1/2-3/4 box of mac and cheese. And horror of horrors, no more sugar laden Pepsi. I’ve now started to look at the nutritional information before I buy them. You know I always wondered what those things were on the back of food packages.

In my search I discovered something that I can eat, in moderation, and not feel guilty about. It satisfies my sweet tooth craving AND it’s a pre-measured snack in the evening. Quaker Mini Delights. If you’ve never heard of them you really need to try some. They come in individual serving bags and the ones I’ve eaten: Chocolatey Drizzle, Peanut Butter and Cinnamon Streusel all had 13-14 gms of carbs and 90 calories, for those of you who are counting them.

I still have to try the Caramel Drizzle and Chocolatey Mint at 14 gms of carbs each. I may even venture into the Buttered Popcorn on a rare occassion at 16 gms of carbs. Yes 3 cups of plain popcorn is about the same carb count but add butter and you’ve almost doubled the calories.

I need to add my husband who insists he doesn’t like rice cakes in any way, shape or form has tried these and eats the Peanut Butter and Chocolatey Drizzle. They’ve even replaced our evening warm, hot from the oven cookie in the evening.

All in all I’d give the Quaker Mini Delights a rating of 5 out of 5

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 7, 2009 4:34 pm

    I LOVE Quaker Mini Squares so I’m sure I’d love these. This is a great blog! I love the theme! See you at Facebook. I’m going to check out the rest of your blog!

    Love, chrisd from Elim

Leave a Reply

