Skip to content

Searching for Low Carb Recipes

August 22, 2009

This hasn’t been a good month for my foray into Domestic Goddessness. I’m having to learn a new way of eating and with that shopping and cooking. And I’ve had to give up my beloved Pepsi. Why, you might ask. I was diagnosed with diabetes. With that comes a whole lifestyle change which even though difficult might be a blessing because it’s forced us to be more aware of the nutrition labels on processed foods and make different choices. But I still miss my carbohydrate laden foods.

Now that I’ve had a month to get use to the changes I’ve been forced to make I’m delving back into my quest to be THE Domestic Goddess. I’m looking for ways to make favorite recipes low carb or diabetic friendly. I’m also looking for new recipes to try that are low carb and diabetic friendly. If you have a recipe you’d be willing to share please send email it to me at notdomesticgoddess@gmail.com. I’ll be posting those recipes along with the contributors name and if you have a blog of your own I’ll list that along with the recipe. If you’d prefer the recipe be added anonymously just let me know and I’ll be sure to omit your name.

Thanks in advance for your help.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 1:56 pm

    Sorry to hear about the diabetes. Giving up our usual (not-so-healthy) foods is tough, especially that darn Pepsi. If you’re ever looking for an alternative drink, maybe try Hansen’s or Zevia sodas. Hansen’s sodas are made with Splenda and Zevia uses Stevia. Both taste decent. They do cost more, but I notice I don’t crave these sodas like I did with Pepsi, so I’m still spending about the same amount.

    Hope you get lots of delicious low-carb recipes. I’ll send you my cookie recipe. I did Atkins for a short while, but couldn’t keep at it when the rest of my family is getting so many sugary foods–too tempting for me. But I still like to bake these cookies.

  2. Dee permalink*
    August 31, 2009 2:02 pm

    Thanks for the tip on the soda. I haven’t heard of either of them but I will be looking.

    I found I’m drinking flavored water which I never really cared for but we have a store near us that has a Pomegranate Berry which is almost like juice made with splenda and the dollar store has a sparkling black cherry with splenda that’s good when I want carbonation.

    I think it’s a mind set thing. When I tried them before I could go back to my Pepsi. Now I have no choice and I rather like them.

    I’m looking forward to the cookie recipe.

Leave a Reply

