Skip to content

Snicker Salad

October 10, 2009

Yes, it’s been a while since you’ve heard from me.  Sorry about that, just trying to hone my Domestic Goddess skills.

Later today we’re going to a BBQ at a friend’s house and as any good guest I asked if I could bring anything (see mom I did listen when you talked).   The response to was “how about a side dish.”  It didn’t take me long to blurt out that I’d make a Snicker Salad.

I know some of you are saying;  what the heck is a Snicker Salad, I’ve heard of Snicker Candy Bars and Snicker Ice Cream Bars but not a Snicker Salad.  My answer to that is; you don’t know what you’re missing.  A Snicker Salad is a mixture of crunchy and chewy goodness like your palate has never experienced before.

First I’ll tell you how you’re SUPPOSE to make a Snicker Salad, then I’ll tell you how NOT to make it.  Yes, I’ve been making this for years but this time I had a mental lapse at the store and had a mess yesterday but I was able to fix it so I guess my road to Domestic Goddessness is still on course.

INGREDIENTS:

Snicker Salad

8 oz carton Cool Whip

Large package French Vanilla Pudding (NOT INSTANT)

2-3 Granny Smith Apples

2-3 Snicker Bars (refrigerated is better)

PREPARATION:

Mix the dry pudding and Cool Whip together.  Cut the apples into bite size pieces leaving skin in place and mix into Cool Whip, Pudding mixture.  Cut up the Snicker Bars and add to other ingredients, stirring well.  Yes, it will be very chunky at this point but that’s how you want it to be.  Refrigerate and serve.

I usually make mine the day ahead of the event but making it that morning is OK also.

Now for what NOT to do.

Whenever I decide to make this and I’m at the store I forget whether the pudding is to be instant or not.  I usually get the right one but this time I got the instant pudding which is a mistake.  Instant and Non Instant puddings are not created equal.   Since you don’t make the pudding but use the dry powder this is where the differences is noticed and it’s not in a good way.  When I mixed the pudding and Cool Whip the consistency was not fluffy as in the past but rather hard to mix. This is when I got the electric mixer which is something I’ve never had to use for this before.  I quickly had something the consistency of Play Dough.  That’s when dawned on me why the recipe specifies NOT INSTANT.

OK, what can I do to fix this.  I don’t want to go back to the store but if I have to I will.  I had 1/2 a carton of French Vanilla Cool Whip in the freezer so I quickly nuked that and tried mixing it with the glob of stiff dough that was to be my salad and it didn’t help that much.  Milk, that’s what I need milk.  By this time I transferred my mess to a different bowl and added some milk to the original to try to get some of the chunks off of the bottom and sides and slowly started adding the milk to my thick dough a little at a time and mixing with the electric mixer.  Little by little it started coming back to life and I had the consistency I was looking for.  Don tasted it for me and he was very pleased with the result so I cut up my apples and Snicker Bars and now have a perfect Snicker Salad to take to the BBQ.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

