Skip to content

My New Years Goals for 2010

December 7, 2009

With Christmas coming we know that New Years isn’t far behind and that means New Years Resolutions.   I try to make resolutions each year but they’re usually so lame or unreachable that I fail by 12:01am on January 1st.  I decided this year I would not make resolutions I can’t keep but try to set goals that I can aim for instead.

My New Years Goals:

  1. Make more time for Don.  We have a great relationship and I love my husband with all my heart but I do think we could do better on the 1 on 1 time.  I know there’s only 2 of us 2 legged creatures in the house so it’s usually 1 on 1 but there are so many daily distractions that WE get forgotten about.  I will try to be more attentive and shut off the computer each day or evening to give Don my full attention
  2. Update my seven, YES THAT’S 7, blogs more regularly.  I love writing and there are you can’t shut me up I just get distracted too easily and I’m the master procrastinator.  Maybe they have a self help group for that.
  3. I will strive to be more organized which will hopefully help me to reach my goal above easier.  I’m a very disorganized person but this is ironic, I love to organize things.  I make flowcharts and spreadsheets for organization, I just don’t keep up with them.  That goes along with my problem above, I procrastinate too much.
  4. I will try to make a new dish for dinner at least once a month.  Maybe experiment some and use things we’ve learned in cooking class.  I love trying new things and we’ve found some keepers in my experimenting I just forget about it when the time comes to go grocery shopping.
  5. I will set time aside each day for Quiet Time with God.  I talk to God constantly but I it’s usually on the run or when I think about it.  I need to make a conscious effort to put Him first and consult with Him when making decisions.  Have more of a WWJD attitude with things rather than winging it and turning to Him when I mess up.

I will work hard to make sure I can achieve the goals listed above.  I know I’m only human and being lax doesn’t mean I should stop trying.  If I find my desk area is cluttered doesn’t mean I’ve failed with #3 it just means I need to clean it up and try again.  Nothing wrong with that.  Nothing to beat myself up over and kick myself in the butt for.

So, what are your New Years Goals for 2010?  I’d love to hear them.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 10, 2009 8:12 pm

    After some research I found out that more than 75% of people who set New Year’s resolutions will break them within 3 months and almost one-third will break them by the end of January? Whether your goal is to stop smoking, lose weight, get in shape, break bad habits, pay off debt, or find true love; most people end up being another statistic.

    Shaun Maddox

    http://www.MyNewYearsResolutionsExtremeMakeover.com/

Leave a Reply

