Skip to content

Pepperoni Bread

December 20, 2009

I love Holiday Parties and get togethers. I enjoy seeing friends and meeting new people plus the decorations and holiday music always puts me in a better mood. For years I’ve wanted to be the hostess of such a gathering but have never followed through on it due to my fear of failure.

One of the main things I’m afraid of is the food. Everyone makes it look so easy with their spiral cut hams, hors d’oeurves and drinks. I’m afraid my table would pale in comparison. I have no idea what foods to serve, what type of drinks to have and how to set the table so it looks festive and inviting. Do I do a buffet, a sit down meal? How early do you bring the food out and what if there’s not enough? When having a buffet do you have to have a main course such as ham or will finger foods do just as well? You get the idea. I guess my main question is: How do I be a good hostess? Since I have no idea I’m willing go be the eternal guest and bring a dish if it’s requested of me. One dish I’ve always been asked to bring is Pepperoni Bread.

Pepperoni Bread isn’t what I would call a Holiday Food but I made it the first time for a Christmas party at work in the early 80’s and since then it’s been around for the Christmas work gatherings. Since it’s easy to make and can be served hot from the oven or room temperature it’s great as a take along. I’m thinking of making it this year as an appetizer or side dish for our quiet Christmas Dinner at home.

Pepperoni Bread

1 loaf frozen bread dough
2 beaten eggs
1 teasp. oregano
dash of garlic
8 oz. pepperoni
1/2 lb grated cheese (colby or cheddar)

Thaw 1 loaf frozen bread dough 1-2 hours (not until puffy). Roll out to cookie sheet size. Cut dough in half to make 2 loaves. Mix together beaten eggs, oregano and garlic; brush 1/2 of mixture over dough. Cut pepperoni into thin slices and layer over mixture avoiding about 1/2 inch on all sides. Place cheese over pepperoni again avoiding about 1/2 inch of dough on all sides. Roll up each half separately and seal edges. Place on ungreased cookie sheet with seam side down. Brush with remaining egg mixture. Bake 30-35 minutes at 350 until nicely browned. Cut on diagonal.

Can be served warm or room temperature.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

