Skip to content

My Second Attempt at Chicago Deep Dish Pizza: It’s Almost There

December 27, 2009

Christmas Day was spent quietly at home, Don on the computer and me enjoying some Christmas Movies.  I’m a sucker for those feel good Hallmark and Lifetime movies.  I also love the oldies White Christmas, Holiday Inn, The Christmas Story; “you’ll put your eye out“, and I’m beginning to enjoy It’s a Wonderful Life again after it was overdone for so many years.

We had a very non-traditional Christmas dinner.  Homemade Pizza.  I made 2 thin crust pepperoni since I KNOW that will turn out OK and tried my hand again at duplicating the Chicago Deep Dish with better results.  I think I’m almost there.  This time I didn’t follow any fancy recipe but used the basics from my own recipe for the crust.  I layered pepperoni on the bottom, followed by about an inch of cheese with another layer of pepperoni.  I followed that with more cheese, almost to the top of the crust and topped it off with Don’s homemade sauce.  I baked it the same temp as the regular pizza but cooked it for about 20-25 minutes.  The crust was a bit too crunchy so now that I’ve got the filling down I’ll try the next one with a thicker crust and not bake it the 5 minutes before adding the toppings.

It’s almost there, maybe once more with the tweaking and I’ll have perfected the Chicago Deep Dish Pizza and invite Chef Michael and his wife, Jeanne, over to try.  Going for the professional’s opinion and maybe a couple of thumbs up from them.  That would be a great New Years gift to myself.

Maybe I’ll start a new Christmas Tradition in our family.  Christmas Pizza.  Sounds good to me and Don being the pizza lover he is really won’t complain at least until I try to add green or red food coloring to the crust.  That might get a few grumbles.

If you’re interested in trying homemade pizza for yourself follow my Basic Pizza Recipe.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 28, 2009 1:35 am

    What an affecting view on this subject. I am happy you shared your ideas and I find myself agreeing. I enjoy your coherent writing and the effort you have spent on this article. Many thanks for the solid work and good luck with the blog, I look forward to more updates.

Leave a Reply

