Skip to content

There’s a Pig in My Refrigerator. What Do I Do With It?

December 30, 2009

I'm Not a Domestic Goddess But I TryAs I’ve said all along I’m Not  Domestic Goddess but I’m Trying.

I’ve got this 10 lb ham in my refrigerator and I have no idea what to do with it.  I’m a canned ham girl.  Armor Golden Star or Hormel all the way, give me a ham with a bone in it and I’m lost.

I asked my best friend Linda how to cook a ham and she told me they’re usually already cooked.  See, I didn’t know that, I thought only the canned hams and ham steaks were pre-cooked.  So, I would have been cooking that thing for hours upon hours to make sure I wasn’t eating raw pork.  I know that’s not a good thing.

Now I’m looking at recipes for glazes, Don remembers his sister makes a honey mustard glaze that he likes.  In reading these recipes I read some that said to brush the glaze on the ham throughout baking and some that say to remove the skin after it’s cooked.  Now I’m totally confused.  There’s a skin that needs to be removed?  If you have to remove the skin why bother basting it?  Won’t that removing the skin undo all that brushing and basting I’ve just done?

Confusion and I haven’t even taken the ham out of the plastic yet.  I do know I have a shank portion.  I had to ask the woman at the store which to get since I saw shank and butt and she insured me the shank was the best since the bone was smaller and I’d end up with more meat.

Now you’re probably wondering why I got a ham that I have no idea how to cook.  Simple, it was free.

Photo Credit: sxc.hu.com photographer: jannbr
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

