Skip to content

Cheesy Corn

March 10, 2010

My sister-in-law makes what she calls Cheesy Corn and I love it.  Not being a fan of cream corn but liking whole kernel this is great, it has the cheese flavor I love in any dish plus the pop of whole kernel corn.

I’ve asked her over and over how to make this dish and she rattles off

  • Make a cheese sauce
  • Sometimes I add some onion
  • Sometimes I use cheese soup
  • Sometimes I …………
  • Sometimes I…………

Well, she lost me at make a cheese sauce.  I NEED the instructions with ingredients and amounts written down or I feel like a mouse in a maze.  Which way do I go with this.

When we invited THE CHEF for dinner I knew I had to make another vegetable besides mashed potatoes but what to make.  Don suggested Cheesy Corn.  Yeah right, like that’s going to happen.  I finally pinned down my sister-in-law and FORCED her to tell me exactly how she makes it.

  • Make a cheese sauce
  • Sometimes I add some onion
  • Sometimes I use cheese soup
  • Sometimes I…………..
  • Sometimes I ………..

Again I was lost so I went online.  I did find some recipes for Cheesy Corn but they called for a LOT more ingredients, cream cheese, sour cream, hot pepper sauce.   I was so confused my head was spinning.  Finally I remembered the cheese soup and knew that once she told me she put those dried onions on top of it and realized “I can do this.”  So, I sent Don to the store to get some frozen corn and since THE CHEF’s wife can’t eat onions I opted for adding ground up croutons to the top.   I was really surprised when everyone loved the corn.  THE CHEF kept going back for more and asking if it was my own creation.  Yeah right, like I could come up with something this good on my own.

Here’s how I made my Cheesy Corn

  • 1 can of cheddar cheese soup. (can use the mexican style for additional flavor and zing)
  • About 1/2 bag of frozen corn
  • mix well ( At this point I realized I probably should have heated the soup in a pan to soften it up a bit and make mixing easier)
  • A little of the ground up croutons (Don got parmesean garlic croutons)
  • A dash of onion powder (sorry I couldn’t help it)
  • About 1/2 handful of shredded cheddar cheese

After it was mixed I sprinkled some grated cheddar cheese on top then covered with more of the ground up croutons.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

As Mr. Foods would say, “It’s So Good”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

