Skip to content

Why Do I Make Things Harder Than They Really Are

March 17, 2010

I always make things more difficult in my mind than the really are.  My latest exaggerated task was making Corned Beef.

I’ve got a little bit of Irish in me but not enough that we had to have Corned Beef on St. Patrick’s Day when I was growing up.  As a matter of fact I don’t remember ever eating Corned Beef when I was younger, it wasn’t until I was on my own that I realized there was more to meat than steak and pot roast.

This year I got the urge to make Corned Beef and looked all over the internet to see how it’s done.  I found recipes for slow cookers, roasting and boiling.  Some called for dill, pickling spices and brown sugar.  I was totally confused until I asked my friend Linda. That’s when I found out you can buy Corned Beef with the flavor packet.  Just put the brisket (yes corned beef is made from brisket), cover with water and add the seasoning packet.  Simmer for several hours and it’s done. How easy was that?

Not knowing exactly how it would turn out and having a busy day tomorrow I decided to make it today and just heat or have sandwiches tomorrow evening.  Now that I know how easy this was maybe I’ll dig a pit in the backyard this summer for a pig roast. Nah, on second thought Don would kill me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 7:04 pm

    You sound like me, there are still lots of things outside of steak and roast I have yet to try. I’m gradually trying to try new things!

Leave a Reply

