Skip to content

How To Look Like a Domestic Goddess

July 19, 2010

In my mind part of being a Domestic Goddess is always looking your best.  OK.  Maybe my huge Tee’s, shorts and bare feet around the house don’t cut it but I’m comfortable and I do clean up nicely.  I’m talking about the hair and nails.  You’ve got to have that look that being able to cook like Paula Deen, as crafty as Martha Stewart and keep a house as spotless as Danny Tanner is effortless.

I usually miss the mark on all counts.  I’m crafty to a limit.  I can have a clean house but the last time I really tried I broke three bones in my foot.  My cooking is improving though and just today I made homemade applesauce.  (I won’t tell you about the first time I made applesauce and forgot about it. I left for a few hours and when I came home my house smelled great but all the apples had boiled away and the pan was spotless.  Hot but spotless).  I just can’t usually do it all without looking like it’s a real effort.  My hairs always a mess.  I mean why bother styling it when it only gets wet and messy from sweating.  My nails? No use getting a manicure since they’re always breaking and splitting.  Oh, I can have long beautiful nails, on one finger at a time.

BUT a friend of mine told me she’s been taking Biotin and it’s really helped her hair and nails. They grow super fast.  Now, I’d tried Biotin once before because I heard it was good at taming a cowlick.  Yes, I’ve got one right in the middle of my forehead.   It didn’t work but I did only take it for a couple of weeks.  I was informed it may take up to 3 months before I notice anything.

I started taking Biotin about a month ago and I can tell you, my nails are really growing and they’re not splitting as they usually do.  I had 10 of the most gorgeous fingernails I’ve ever had (without spending money on gel tips). Now I’ve got 9.  Biotin may keep my nails from splitting and cracking but it doesn’t protect them from a knife.  Yes, I was peeling and slicing potatoes the other day and I sliced a fingernail off.

Now you’re asking if the Biotin is working on my hair.  I think it needs a bit more time for me to give you a progress report on that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

