Skip to content

The Domestic Goddess of the 21st Century

August 19, 2010

I finally realized I’m going about this Domestic Goddess thing the wrong way.  I’m trying to be the Goddess of the 60’s. You know the ones that were roll models for all women out there.  Betty Anderson (Father Knows Best), June Cleaver (Leave it to Beaver), Donna  Stone (The Donna Reed Show), Harriet Nelson (The Adventures of Ozzie and Harried) even Laura Petrie (The Dick Van Dyke Show)  Those are the ones who were always in the kitchen waiting for the kids to come home from school with a plate of homemade cookies and a nice glass of cold milk.  The ones who had a hot home cooked meal on the table when their husbands got home.  They cleaned the house in heels and pearls and if you did happen to see them outside the kitchen they usually had an apron tied around their waist or a dish towel in their hands.  After dinner the kids would go up to their rooms and do their homework and their husbands would retire to the living room or den to relax and read the newspaper while the wives cleared the table and did the dishes. Yes the kitchen was their home office.

Later in the 70’s we had Carol Brady.  She had the Alice to help around the house be Carol was right beside Alice cooking dinner for the family and when the kids came home from school she was either in the family room sewing or waiting in the kitchen with cookies and milk.

Well, I just realized that things have changed and I have to stop striving for something that doesn’t exist and aim toward the Domestic Goddess of the 21st century.  That woman knows where the best take-out places are, she has a Rumba to do the vacuuming for her and a dishwasher to tackle the dishes after dinner when they don’t eat on paper plates.  Hot warm cookies, yes she can make those as long as she’s got those slice and bake cookies from the refrigerated section.  I really think I can attain that goal faster.

Yes, today’s Domestic Goddess has come into the 21st century with technology blazing and I’m going to get on that bandwagon.  I’m going to utilize my GPS a little more to find dinner, ask for a dishwasher and tie a feather duster to the dog’s tail.   Now I’ll have more time to act like the true  Goddess that’s inside of me. The one who can sleep until 10, lounge on the couch reading a book or watching Dr. Phil and occasionally eat Bon Bon’s.

As a matter of fact, I’ll start training now.   Don, peel me another grape.

Oh Yeah, this I could get use to.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2010 9:24 pm

    That’s right. I eat bon bons all day long.

  2. August 30, 2010 9:46 pm

    ahahahhaha…..what a great post! i also am a not-so-domestic-goddess and realized after your post that i too had been looking at it all wrong…to hell with manual labor, i have a rumba, a dog and a dishwasher too…and my house and its disarray is not my identity…you go goddess….

    Val

Leave a Reply

