Skip to content

Crab Pasta Salad

September 8, 2010

Yesterday was the first day of the last session of our cooking class for this year.  Were you able to follow that.  I was asked AND said yes to teaching this class so I had to come up with a menu.

First was my mom’s Homemade Chicken & Noodles.  Those are always a hit. I cooked the chicken and made the broth a while ago and had it in my freezer just for this event.  All the class needed to do was make the noodles which was fun.  They said they really enjoyed them even though some said the noodles could have cooked a little longer. THAT REALLY WASN’T MY FAULT.  I said to cook the noodles for 30 minutes adding the chicken after 20 minutes.  It wasn’t me that kept insisting they were done after 10 minutes.  I think they were getting dumpling type noodles confused with pasta noodles.  NOT THE SAME THING!  This looks a little more like soup to me but I think it’s because more broth was take out of the pot than noodles.  When we ladled up and put it on our plates we got way less broth and more noodles per serving (the way it’s suppose to be).  I guess trying to make a good presentation can sometimes take away from what the dish is suppose to look like.  I should have taken a picture of the noodles in the pot to give you an idea of what they’re suppose to really look like.  Maybe I’ll do that next time I make them…..

The next item on the menu was Snicker Salad.  There was a mishap in getting small box of regular pudding and 1 small box of instant.  If you remember from my previous post, instant pudding doesn’t quite work well but thanks to the hard work and dedication of the class they were able to save the day by adding some milk.

When the class was over there was 1 small dish of Chicken & Noodles left and no Snicker Salad.

The third and last item on the list was a Crab/Pasta salad that I love.  This is so easy to make and it’s really good for a spring/summer lunch.  I still remember the first time I had it I was at a friends and we were eating outside.  Perfect setting for this dish and it was complemented with Frozen Daiquiri’s.  I realize summer is almost over but it’s really a good dish to serve anytime.  For your enjoyment I’ll share the recipe with you.  Mine isn’t usually displayed with the growth of greens in the center, I guess that was done for presentation.  I’m more of a “mix it in a bowl put it on the table and everyone dig in” type of cook.

Crab Pasta Salad

Ingredients:
1 pound rotini noodles, cooked and cooled.   (you can get the different colored noodles)
1 package imitation crab meat
Green and/or red pepper
Onion
Celery or Celery Seed

Dressing:
1 cup mayonaise
1 cup sour cream
2-3 tablespoons cocktail sauce

Taste dressing and add more cocktail sauce if desired.  If dressing is too thick add a little milk to thin it out.

Directions:
After the noodles are cool mix with the other ingredients.  Add dressing and mix well.

Serve chilled

Number Of Servings:  Depends on how hungry everyone is

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

