Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving with Pecan Pie

November 24, 2010

I just wanted to tell my readers Happy Thanksgiving and if you’re traveling stay safe.

We’re going to my sister-in-law’s for dinner this year as we do most years.  Dinner is usually a group effort with her husband cooking the turkey in the fryer outside and Don and I bring some side dishes.   Last year I was to provide the mashed potatoes, pie and snicker salad.   I forgot the potatoes and snicker salad so we had to rush to cook a huge pot of potatoes in a hurry.  The Snicker Salad I’d made didn’t go to waste though as my stepdaughter and her family were visiting from Sweden and we ate it for a few days after the holiday.

This year I made Pumpkin Pie, Pecan Pie, 7 Layer Salad and a Cheese Ball.  We’re also providing the cranberry sauce but that’s in a can.    I have a list on the refrigerator of everything we have to take so hopefully there won’t be anything left out this time.

I’ve made the Pumpkin Pie before and I’d love to share the recipe but I’ve been sworn to secrecy under penalty of death.  It’s a family recipe of a friend of mine.  The Pecan Pie I’ve never made and a friend told me to do a Google search for Ann Landers Pecan Pie.  It was so simple I couldn’t believe it.  I don’t like pecans but I may sneak a bite of Don’s just to see how it tastes.   If nothing else I’ve got 2 cans of whipped cream to cover it up.

Ann Landers’ Pecan Pie

1 Cup White Corn Syrup
1 Cup Dark Brown Sugar
1/3 Cup Melted Butter
1 Cup Pecans (heaping Cup)
3 Eggs, Beaten
Dash of Vanilla
Pinch of Salt

Mix ingredients well.
Pour into unbaked 9″ pastry shell.
Bake at 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

