Skip to content

Merry Christmas Everyone

December 25, 2010

First I want to take this opportunity to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas.  I hope the day is full of fun, family and making memories and not full of stress.

We’re going to Don’s sister’s today and we decided on Thanksgiving that we were going to be doing it a lot different then in years past.  Yes, I thought the year I made BBQ ribs for Christmas dinner was different but this year we’re going stress free for the meal.  Sandwiches and snacks or as my friends and I use to call this menu LSS (Light Snacky Sh*t).

Mona (sister-in-law) has a variety of lunch meats, cheeses, breads and then there’s the desserts.  I’m making or should I say I made Pepperoni Bread.  I made 2 loaves yesterday and it’s all packed up and ready to go.  Don’s making a pasta salad that has no recipe.  He made it a few months when Chef Michael and his wife, Jeanne came for dinner and they raved about it so he tried to remember all he used and is going to attempt to recreate it.  The nice thing about a salad, there is no right or wrong, just add what sounds good and you know you’ve got a winner.

So, you want to know what he’s putting into the salad this time.

  • Rotini Noodles
  • Pepperoni
  • Grape Tomatoes (last time we used cherry tomatoes cut in half)
  • Green Onions
  • Pimentos (didn’t use them last time)
  • Italian Dressing
  • I think the last time he added garlic croutons but he might have bought them and forgot to add them I can’t remember.

Of course you can add or subtract anything you want.

So, this Christmas as we’re fixing our own sandwiches, eating off of paper plates and not having to worry about preparations and too much clean up and washing dishes I’ll be thinking of those less fortunate that are slaving over a hot stove and oven, trying to get everything to be done at the same time and then having too many items for the dishwasher.  As I’m sitting back after dinner, satisfied that everyone is able to be in the same room and continue to enjoy each others company I’ll think of those that are delegated to clean up and kitchen duty.

Yes, I think I’ll be basking in the glory of having attained true Domestic Goddessness as I’ve discovered how to enjoy a day of good food and family without touching the stove or can opener once.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

