Skip to content

My First Attempt at Homemade – Made From Scratch Pancakes

February 7, 2011

I’m on a pancake kick right now. Pancakes every morning with sugar free syrup. The best sugar free syrup I’ve found is Mrs. Butterworth Extra Thick. I also like the Mrs. Butterworth Complete Pancake Mix. You know the one, just add water. When I make the pancakes I usually make enough for a couple of mornings so I don’t have to go through the hassle of mixing the batter each day. Yeah, adding water and stirring can be hard work.

Well, I ran out of pancake mix a couple of weeks ago and didn’t buy anymore so I resorted to Bisquick. That’s still rather simple, add milk, egg and mix. Well, this morning I decided to be a bit more adventurous and flex those Domestic Goddess muscles and make my pancakes from scratch. Yes, you read that right.

My first step was finding the right recipe. It had to be perfect and fool proof  for my first attempt at real homemade pancakes and I must say this one intrigued me because it had VINEGAR in it. Once I read the recipe fully I realized I was making my own buttermilk for the pancakes.

These are actual pictures I took this morning of my homemade from scratch pancakes.  Pretty good if I must say so myself.

Homemade Pancakes Homemade Pancakes

 

Homamade Pancakes with Mrs. Butterworth Sugar Free Syrup

Pancake Recipe

Ingredients

3/4 cup milk
2 tblsp white vinegar

2 tblsp melted butter
1 egg

1 cup flour
2 tblsp sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Mix the milk and vinegar and let it set for 5 minutes.   This step sours the milk. Didn’t sound too good to me but I was willing to give it a try.

In a separate bowl mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside

Melt the butter, then add the egg and mix.

Add the egg/butter mixture to the milk.   I’m sure you’re getting the idea, this is buttermilk.

Add the liquid to the solid and mix.

The batter had a sort of mousse consistency and nothing like any pancake batter I’m use to. There were no lumps or clumps of powder at all.

I used about 1 1/2 tblsp full of mix per pancake and ended up with 12 pancakes about 4″ in diameter.

Cook as you would any other pancakes, until bubbles form on the top then flip.

The pancakes were light, fluffy and so yummy. I would probably us a tad less salt next time though as I thought they tasted a bit salty but enough syrup and it was covered up.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 5:24 pm

    I only make homemade pancakes nowadays. Too much crap in the mixes. I don’t sour the milk though.

  2. February 8, 2011 4:57 pm

    Good job! I only make pancakes from scratch. Really isn’t any harder than whipping together a mix, and they taste so much better.

  3. February 9, 2011 9:39 am

    Those look delicious Dee! I only like the made from scratch ones too. At first I was thinking “if they sell boxed mix, making them from scratch must be difficult.” But that is so wrong LOL!! Just put a few ingredients in the bowl, mix, and pour! Just as easy, and healthier than, boxed!

  4. Mary H permalink
    April 6, 2013 11:49 am

    I just tried your pancake recipe. I added an extra tablespoon of sugar and they were very,very,very delicious. They tasted just like Mrs. Butterworth’s complete pancakes. I will never buy pancake mix again. I’m a cook from scratch lady, but used the mix for quickie breakfast. My cornbread recipe and jello recipe is super good. My jello only takes 6 minutes to set and tastes like sherbet.Thank you for posting your recipe.

Leave a Reply

